Skip to content

Expertise. For Hire.

January 23, 2011

And Now Over To Our Panel Of Experts

That’s right. Expert. If you’re in the market for a copywriter, a ghost writer, a guest blogger, a voice-over talent to record your podcast for you – I’m the man. The very person you need. Your go-to guy. Look no further.

*pause*

Me? An Expert?

You’re having a laugh, aren’t you?

I’m only writing this stuff down to get it out of my head. The fact that someone reads it – at all – is a real bonus. To have someone refer to me as an expert. Pfft. It would be nice to think that if someone were to read these collected thoughts, that they found them mildly entertaining. If they get anything out of them that helps with their writing, or their own blog, or saves them money on therapy then I hope they leave a comment to that affect.

Yes, I do read them. Most of them have been very kind indeed. They major mostly on the enthusiasm, which I find humbling and interesting, for passion on a subject is half the battle.

Surely I’m right in thinking that doing something that you love, that you enjoy, is not considered…Work?

Ignore Everybody

Which is something my creativity guru, Hugh MacLeod is very big on. If you haven’t popped across to Gaping Void yet, I suggest you do so post haste. One of the most important mantras I’ve learnt from Hugh is: Keep The Day Job. But there’s nothing to say that you can’t develop the Late Evening And Into The Night Job, whilst maintaining the Day one.

And it is my fervent wish this year that something will come from the hours I put in outside the Day Job that turns my Late Evening And Into The Night work into my This Is What I Do, All The Time job. Because Time, Effort and Stamina are the seedlings that grow into Luck.

For further reading, try:

The wonderful people over at Bitsy have the 6 Steps to Becoming an Expert

Parting Thought:

Aristotle once said… “We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, therefore, is not an act but a habit.”

From → Writing

How Does That Sound?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

